IMG_4234.jpg

Potami

Whereas the southern part has become more and more touristic, you can still find traditional Greek villages, romantic places and lonely beaches in the other parts of the villages. One of these places is Potami in the northern part of Samos. An approximately one kilometre long gravel beach, surrounded by a great vegetation is considered as an insider's tip for bathers and inhabitants. While the air smells of pine trees one can make himself comfortable at the beach for sunbathing and sees in the meantime the crystalclear, turquoise water of the Aegean.

 

Not too far from potami beach there are the Potami waterfalls. They are considered as one of the most spectacular tourist attractions on the island. One can walk along a path in just a few minutes and take a refreshing shower in the chilly water - a great experience!

 

IMG 4009

 

In Potami there are two taverns, one beach bar and one coffee bar from where one can enjoy marvelous sunsets. Walking along a nice path you can reach the remote bays Mikroseitani and Megaloseitani, where you sometimes get the opportunity to see Mediterranean seals. This area has the biggest coherent forest of the island and is under nature conservancy.

One who stays as a self-caterer in Potami far away from mass tourism finds near the harbour a few shops and small supermarkets. And if you want to go shopping you can go to Karlovasi, which is the second biggest city on the island and about 5 kilometer away from Potami beach.

For those who are looking for a quiet place away from mass tourism Potami is the right place to go. You will enjoy your stay from the first moment - in the middle of unspoilt nature Potami is just the right place to relax.

IMG_4386.jpg

Potami

Während im Süden der Tourismus floriert und immer mehr Besucher die Insel für sich entdecken, sind in den anderen Teilen der Insel noch griechische Dorfidylle, romantische Plätze und einsame Buchten zu finden. Einer dieser Plätze ist Potami im Norden von Samos. Ein etwa ein Kilometer langer Kiesstrand umringt von üppiger Vegetation gilt als Geheimtipp für die Badegäste und Bewohner. Während der Geruch von Pinienbäumen durch die Nase strömt, breitet man sich am Strand zum Sonnenbad aus und blickt dabei in das blitzsaubere, türkisfarbene Wasser der Ägäis.

 

Unweit von Potami-Strand wartet eine weitere Attraktion: Die Wasserfälle von Potami gelten als einer der spektakulärsten Ausflugsziele der Insel. Zu Fuß wandert man in wenigen Minuten auf einem Pfad dorthin, um sich im kühlen Nass Erfrischung zu verschaffen - ein tolles Erlebnis!

 

IMG 4009

 

Erfrischung anderer Art bieten in Potami zwei Tavernen, eine Strandbar und eine Cafe-Bar von denen aus man unvergessliche Sonnenuntergänge genießen kann. Über einen schönen Pfad gelangt man zu den entlegenen Buchten Mikroseitani und Megaloseitani, wo man gelegentlich noch Mittelmeerrobben erblicken kann. Dieses Gebiet hat das größte zusammenhängende Waldstück der Insel und steht unter Naturschutz.

Wer als Selbstversorger in Potami Quartier bezieht, findet im nur wenige hundert Meter entfernten Hafen, Geschäfte und kleine Supermärkte. Und wer auf große Einkaufstour gehen will, wird in der zweitgrößten Stadt der Insel, Karlovasi (ca. 5km vom Potamistrand) bestens bedient.

Wer einen Platz abseits vom schrillen Massentourismus sucht ist in Potami jedenfalls richtig. Von der ersten Sekunde an werden Sie den Aufenthalt genießen - inmitten einer Naturidylle ist Potami ganz einfach der ideale Ort zum Entspannen.